Contextual Study (Introduction to C20 Art)

autumn-rhythm

Autumn Rhythm was by Jackson Pollock. It name on Autumn Rhythm in 1950. When I first saw this painting, I can not understand it and I do not know what it means. After that, our tutor gave us some questions. From these questions to analy the painting.

From this painting I can see it was in autumn, because the colour looks like in Autumn, the leaves of depression. Also, I know when the artist painted it, he felt very excited, because the lines can show his freedom style and it was very compact. The painting just has black, white and brown curving lines, but I can see more emotions on it, and it has dark areas. Furthermore, most lines are black, but it also had some white lines to distinguish them, so I think it was clear to see the different lines.

When I first saw this painting, I can not understand it, but when I see it again and again, I can know lots of information on it. So I know I should pay attention on art and study how to analy it. I am hoping to have more reflection on other artists’ works.

Leave a Reply

